---
title: "Creating Network Views for the Global Network"
canonical: "https://docs.infoblox.com/space/netmri761/1056868334/Creating%20Network%20Views%20for%20the%20Global%20Network"
format: markdown
---
When you perform the initial setup of a NetMRI appliance using the `configure`` ``server` command, the appliance automatically uses the default network view, named **Network** **1**, for the first discovery. You can also create more 'unassigned' network views for use with other physical scan interfaces and other networks. To create network views for the global network, complete the following: 

1. Click the** Settings** icon > **Setup** > **Network** **Views**.
2. To add a new view entry, click the **Add** icon.
3. Enter a **Name** and **Description** for the new view. To navigate from the **Name** to **Description** fields, press the **Tab** key or click the text fields.
4. To create another view, click the** Add** icon again or close the **Network Views** settings page.

The new unassigned network view will appear with a caution icon (> Macro (inline-media-image)

) in other dialog boxes, such as a discovery range configuration. This indicates the network view is not associated with a scan interface. For more information, see [<u>*Configuring Physical Scan Interfaces*</u>](https://infoblox-docs.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/netmri761/pages/1056868501) and [*<u>Configuring Virtual Scan Interfaces</u>*](https://infoblox-docs.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/netmri761/pages/1056868528).

> ⚠️ **Note**
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ If you create unassigned network views, and the view is not assigned to a scan interface, any discovery settings for the view will not be processed and discovery will not take place for the network view.

For information on creating network views for virtual networks, see [<u>*Mapping Virtual Networks to Network Views*</u>](https://infoblox-docs.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/netmri761/pages/1056868370).

> ⚠️ **Note**
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ If you delete a network view from the **Settings** icon > **Setup** > **Network** **Views** page, all discovery ranges and static IPs that are associated with the network view will be deleted from their respective pages under the **Settings** icon > **Setup** > **Discovery** **Settings**.