---
title: "Defining and Editing Roles"
canonical: "https://docs.infoblox.com/space/netmri754/105941880/Defining%20and%20Editing%20Roles"
format: markdown
---
> ⚠️ Roles are also limited by a chosen user's permitted access to device groups. Device groups accessible to a user are specified in the user's account.

A role defines what a user can do within NetMRI. Each role consists of a set of privileges that specify permitted activities. The **Roles** page (**Settings** icon > **User** **Admin** > **Roles**) enables an administrator to create, edit, and delete roles.

To create a new role, complete the following:

1. Click **Add** (below the table).
2. In the **Add Role** dialog > **Users** tab, enter a descriptive name in the **Name** field.
3. In the **Description** field, describe the role.
4. Click **Save**.   
This adds the new role to the **Roles** table. The **Users** and **Privileges** tabs appear.  
You can assign one or more user accounts or privileges to the new role. It is not necessary to assign users to the role (this can be done in the user account), but privileges must be assigned for the new pole to be meaningful.
5. In the **Users** tab, click **Add**.   
The **Add** **User** **for** **<Username>** **Role** dialog box appears, displaying a **Users** drop-down list and the list of **Device Groups** in the appliance.
6. In the **Add User for <Username> Role** dialog > **User** drop-down list, choose one or more users for the role.
7. In the **Device Group** table, select the device group checkboxes to be associated with this role.
8. Click **OK**.
9. As needed, repeat steps 5 through 8 for other accounts.

> ⚠️ A role containing optional user/device group definitions can be assigned only to users listed in the **Role** **Users** tab. To allow a role to be assigned to any user, delete user/device group definitions in this tab.

To specify privileges for the role, perform the following:

1. In the **Edit** **Role** > **Privileges** tab, click **Add**.
2. In the **Add** **Privileges** dialog box, select the **Privileges** checkboxes (see list below) to be associated with the role.
3. Click **OK**.
4. In the **Edit** **Role** dialog, click **Save** **&** **Close**.