---
title: "Enabling and Disabling Zones"
canonical: "https://docs.infoblox.com/space/BloxOneDDI/186617648/Enabling%20and%20Disabling%20Zones"
format: markdown
---
<span style="color: #000000">Universal DDI allows you to disable and enable a zone when you create or edit it. When you disable a zone, Universal DDI removes it from the DNS configuration file, but not from the database. This feature is especially helpful when you have to move or repair the on-premise appliance for a particular zone. You can easily disable a zone temporarily, and then enable it after the move or repair is completed.</span>