Page tree

Contents

Infoblox recommends that you regularly create database snapshots that helps in mitigating the impact of any user errors in the NIOS configuration. Whenever there is an error in the NIOS configuration, you can roll back the database (onedb) to the snapshot that you have created earlier. This is potentially faster than restoring the database using the backup file.
The following sections describe how to create snapshots and roll back snapshots:

Creating Database Snapshots

You can create a database snapshot periodically and save it locally on the appliance. You can create only one copy of the database snapshot at any given time. Each time you create a new snapshot, it overrides the previous snapshot. When you create a database snapshot, only data that is currently saved in the database is included in the snapshot. Only superusers are allowed to create a database snapshot. Creating database snapshots does not have any impact on the scheduled local backup. The snapshot saved locally on the appliance will not be affected if an HA failover occurs, but the snapshot is deleted during a Grid Master Candidate promotion, upgrade, downgrade, or if you restore the appliance using the backup file. Note that creating a database snapshot fails when any of the following operations are in progress:

  • Rolling back database snapshot.
  • When another database snapshot is being created.
  • Restoring backup files. To create a snapshot:
  1. From the Grid tab -> Grid Manager tab, click Snapshot -> Create from the Toolbar.
  2. In the Create Snapshot dialog box, enter information about the snapshot in the Comment field and click OK.
  3. In the Create Snapshot confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

Rolling Back Database Snapshots

If you have already created a snapshot, you can roll back the database to the snapshot to recover from any user errors in the NIOS configuration. Rolling back the database (onedb) to the snapshot is potentially faster than restoring the database from a backup file. Rolling back to the snapshot changes only the database, not any other transient data, such as file distribution, reporting splunk, discovery data, etc. Note that you might lose the data that you have saved after creating the snapshot. Only superusers can perform the rollback operation.

When reporting cluster is enabled, rolling the database back to the snapshot that was created when reporting was in the single-indexer mode might cause some data loss. The database settings will reset reporting to the single-indexer mode, and the indexer might not have all the data indexed since reporting cluster was enabled.

To roll back the database to the snapshot:

  1. From the Grid tab -> Grid Manager tab, click Snapshot -> Rollback from the Toolbar.
  2. The Rollback Snapshot dialog box displays the following information:
    • Snapshot Time: The date and timestamp when the snapshot was created.
    • Comment: Information about the snapshot.
  3. Click OK.

This page has no comments.