Page tree

Contents

After you configure Grid members to manage Microsoft servers, you can set certain properties and manage the servers as follows:

Setting Microsoft Server Properties

You can modify any of the Microsoft server properties you previously configured, except for the network view and DNS view. You can also set certain properties, including the logging level, extensible attributes, and administrative permissions. Extensible attributes and permissions apply to the data only when they are managed from Grid Manager. Extensible attributes and permissions are not synchronized to the Microsoft server.
To set the properties of a Microsoft server:

  1. From the Grid tab, select the Microsoft Servers tab -> Servers tab, select a Microsoft server and click the Edit icon, or click the Action icon  next to the respective Microsoft server and select Edit from the menu.
  2. In the Microsoft Server Properties editor, you can set properties in the following tabs:
  3. Save the configuration and click Restart if it appears at the top of the screen.

You can edit the General and Logging properties of multiple Microsoft servers at the same time by selecting the Microsoft servers and clicking the Edit icon. When Grid Manager displays the Microsoft Server Properties editor, it displays the values that the Microsoft servers have in common. If a property has multiple values, it indicates this. You can then change any of the values and when you click Save, Grid Manager applies your changes to all the selected Microsoft servers.

Changing the Managing Member or Management Mode

You can change the managing member and the management mode of a Microsoft server.
If you change the managing member, the previous member aborts any ongoing synchronization, and the newly assigned member resumes the synchronization process.
Note that if you switch the managing member or change the management mode of a Microsoft server from Read/Write to Read-only, the Grid member reverts any changes that were made from Grid Manager since the last synchronization. For example, an admin adds a network and DHCP range for a scope. If another admin changes the management mode of the Microsoft server to Read-only before the next synchronization, the Grid member deletes the network and DHCP range at the next synchronization.
To change the member or management mode:

  1. From the Grid tab, select the Microsoft Servers tab -> Servers tab, select a Microsoft server and click the Edit icon, or click the Action icon next to the respective Microsoft server and select Edit from the menu.
  2. In the Microsoft Server Properties editor, select the General tab and do any of the following:
    • Managing Member: Click Select Member and select another Grid member.
    • Manage Server(s) in: Select either Read-only or Read/Write.
  3. Save the configuration and click Restart if it appears at the top of the screen.

Backing Up Synchronized Data

When you back up the Grid, it includes all managed Microsoft data. If you restore a backup, the data is restored on the Grid only. It is not synchronized to the Microsoft servers. When the Grid member synchronizes the data after the restore operation, it overrides the data on the Grid with the data from the Microsoft servers. For information about backing up and restoring data, see Backing Up and Restoring Configuration Files.

Disabling Synchronization

When you set the disable option, the Grid member completes any on-going synchronization and does not start a new one. Setting this option only affects data synchronization and does not affect the operations of the Microsoft server. Synchronization resumes when the Microsoft server is re-enabled.
To disable a Microsoft server:

  1. From the Grid tab, select the Microsoft Servers tab -> Servers tab, select a Microsoft server and click the Edit icon, or click the Action icon next to the respective Microsoft server and select Edit from the menu.
  2. In the General tab, select the Disable Synchronization option.
  3. Save the configuration and click Restart if it appears at the top of the screen.

Removing a Managed Microsoft Server

When you remove a Microsoft server from the Grid, the managing member stops any on-going synchronization and does not start a new one. If the Microsoft server served DNS, the synchronized DNS data remains unchanged in the Grid. If the Microsoft server served DHCP, then Grid Manager deletes all the DHCP ranges, leases, and fixed addresses associated with the server. It also deletes networks that were assigned only to the Microsoft server. It does not delete a network if it was assigned to other Microsoft servers as well.

Removing a managed Microsoft server from the Grid does not affect the operations of the Microsoft server.

To remove a managed server:

  1. From the Grid tab, select the Microsoft Servers tab -> Servers tab, select a Microsoft server and click the Delete icon, or click the Action icon next to the respective Microsoft server and select Delete from the menu.
  2. When the Delete Confirmation dialog box appears, click Yes.

For information about how removing a Microsoft server affects the synchronized DNS and DHCP data, see Disabling and Removing Microsoft DNS Servers and Disabling and Removing Microsoft DHCP Servers.

This page has no comments.