Page tree

Contents

The NIOS appliance allows you to clear certain information from the DNS cache. You can do the following:

Clearing DNS Cache

You can clear all the entries that are saved in the DNS cache. When you clear DNS cache on the NIOS appliance, entire BIND recursive cache is cleared.
To clear DNS cache:

  1. From the Data Management tab, select the DNS tab -> Members tab -> member checkbox.
  2. Expand the Toolbar, click Clear -> Clear DNS Cache.
  3. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog box to clear DNS cache.

Clearing Cache for DNS Views

You can configure the NIOS appliance to clear cache of a specific DNS view. This feature clears cache entries of a specific DNS view that is associated with the selected member.
To clear cache of a DNS view:

  1. From the Data Management tab, select the DNS tab -> click the Members tab.
  2. Expand the Toolbar, click Clear -> Clear View's Cache.
  3. Specify the following in the Clear View's Cache dialog box:
    • Member: Click Select Member to select a member. If there are multiple members, the Member Selector dialog box is displayed, from which you can select a member. Click the required member name in the dialog box. You can also click Clear to clear the displayed member and select a new one.
    • DNS View: Select a DNS View from the drop-down list. This list box appears only when there are multiple DNS views in the network view.
    • Click Clear Cache to clear the cache entries of the corresponding DNS View.

      Note

      The entire name server recursive cache is cleared, if you do not specify a DNS view when you clear cache using Clear View's Cache and Clear Domain Name features on the NIOS appliance.


Clearing Domains and Subdomains from DNS Cache

You can clear a specific domain and its subdomains from the DNS cache. When you clear a domain from the DNS cache, it is also removed from the BIND recursive cache.
To clear a specific domain and its subdomains:

  1. From the Data Management tab, select the DNS tab -> click the Members tab.
  2. Expand the Toolbar, click Clear -> Clear Domain Name.
  3. Specify the following in the Clear Domain Name from Cache dialog box:
    • Domain Name: Enter a domain name you want to delete.
    • Clear entire domain (including subdomains): Select the checkbox to clear the specified domain and its subdomains from the DNS cache. For example, if you enter corpxyz.com in the Domain Name field, then selecting this checkbox clears the entire domain including its subdomains such as www.corpxyz.com, corpxyz.com, x.corpxyz.com, etc. This checkbox is deselected by default.
    • Member: Click Select Member to select a member. If there are multiple members, the Member Selector dialog box is displayed, from which you can select a member. Click the required member name in the dialog box. You can also click Clear to clear the displayed member and select a new one.
    • DNS View: Select a DNS View from the drop-down list. This list box appears only when there are multiple DNS views in the network view.
    • Click Clear Domain Name to clear the domain name from the cache.

This page has no comments.