After you configure Grid members to manage Microsoft servers, you can set certain properties and manage the servers as follows:
You can modify any of the Microsoft server properties you previously configured, except for the network view and DNS view. You can also set certain properties, including the logging level, extensible attributes, and administrative permissions. Extensible attributes and permissions apply to the data only when they are managed from Grid Manager. Extensible attributes and permissions are not synchronized to the Microsoft server.
To set the properties of a Microsoft server:
You can edit the General and Logging properties of multiple Microsoft servers at the same time by selecting the Microsoft servers and clicking the Edit icon. When Grid Manager displays the Microsoft Server Properties editor, it displays the values that the Microsoft servers have in common. If a property has multiple values, it indicates this. You can then change any of the values and when you click Save, Grid Manager applies your changes to all the selected Microsoft servers.
You can change the managing member and the management mode of a Microsoft server.
If you change the managing member, the previous member aborts any ongoing synchronization, and the newly assigned member resumes the synchronization process.
Note that if you switch the managing member or change the management mode of a Microsoft server from Read/Write to Read-only, the Grid member reverts any changes that were made from Grid Manager since the last synchronization. For example, an admin adds a network and DHCP range for a scope. If another admin changes the management mode of the Microsoft server to Read-only before the next synchronization, the Grid member deletes the network and DHCP range at the next synchronization.
To change the member or management mode:
When you back up the Grid, it includes all managed Microsoft data. If you restore a backup, the data is restored on the Grid only. It is not synchronized to the Microsoft servers. When the Grid member synchronizes the data after the restore operation, it overrides the data on the Grid with the data from the Microsoft servers. For information about backing up and restoring data, see Backing Up and Restoring Configuration Files.
When you set the disable option, the Grid member completes any on-going synchronization and does not start a new one. Setting this option only affects data synchronization and does not affect the operations of the Microsoft server. Synchronization resumes when the Microsoft server is re-enabled.
To disable a Microsoft server:
When you remove a Microsoft server from the Grid, the managing member stops any on-going synchronization and does not start a new one. If the Microsoft server served DNS, the synchronized DNS data remains unchanged in the Grid. If the Microsoft server served DHCP, then Grid Manager deletes all the DHCP ranges, leases, and fixed addresses associated with the server. It also deletes networks that were assigned only to the Microsoft server. It does not delete a network if it was assigned to other Microsoft servers as well.
Removing a managed Microsoft server from the Grid does not affect the operations of the Microsoft server.
To remove a managed server:
This page has no comments.