Search

Page tree

Contents

You can lock a zone when you create or edit it to prevent other administrators from making conflicting changes.

Locking and Unlocking Zones

When you lock a zone, Grid Manager displays LOCKED beside the zone name when you view the records and subzones of the zone in the Zones panel. When other administrators try to make changes to a locked zone, the system displays a warning message that the zone is locked by admin_name.

You can perform dynamic updates through mechanisms such as DDNS and nsupdate on a locked zone. The system can also add auto-generated records such as glue A records and NS records to a locked zone. Locks on a zone do not impact its child zones.

Only a superuser or the administrator who locked the zone can unlock it. Locks do not expire; you must manually unlock a locked zone.

Enabling and Disabling Zones

The NIOS appliance allows you to disable and enable a zone when you create or edit it. When you disable a zone, Grid Manager removes it from the DNS configuration file, but not from the database. This feature is especially helpful when you have to move or repair the server for a particular zone. You can easily disable a zone temporarily, and then enable it after the move or repair is completed.


Note: When you temporarily disable a zone that has an associated NS group, the appliance removes all the automatically generated NS records, glue A or AAAA records, and PTR records from the zone. The appliance automatically generates the NS records, glue A or AAAA records, and PTR records when you re-enable the zone.


This page has no comments.