Page tree

Contents

You can schedule tasks, such as adding DNS zones, modifying fixed addresses, and restarting services, for a future date and time. The scheduling feature is useful when you want to add, modify, or delete a record, or schedule a network discovery at a desired date and time. Using this feature, you can streamline your day-to-day operations. For example, you can schedule the deletion of records that you use for testing when the test time is up. You can also reassign an IP address to a fixed address when the location of the server to which the fixed address is assigned changes from one network to another.
You can schedule the addition, modification, and deletion of certain objects. For a list of the supported objects, see Supported Objects for Scheduled and Approval Tasks.
Depending on your permissions and the admin group to which you belong, your scheduled tasks may be subject to approvals by other admins in your organization. You may or may not receive email notifications about the status of your scheduled tasks depending on the configuration of the approval workflows. Approvers can reschedule your tasks after they have approved the tasks, if they have scheduling permissions. When you schedule and submit a task, you may need to enter a ticket number associated with the task or a comment about the task. For more information about approval workflows, see Configuring Approval Workflows.
Only superusers can view, reschedule, and delete all scheduled tasks. Limited-access admins can reschedule and delete only their scheduled tasks. If your scheduled tasks require approvals, the approvers who have scheduling permissions may reschedule your tasks to a different date and time after they have approved the tasks. Depending on your admin permissions, there are certain scheduled and approval tasks that you may or may not be able to perform. For more information, see Supported Tasks for Different Admin Groups.
The appliance sends email notifications to local admins, except for those who do not have email addresses, when email notification is enabled for the admins and any of the following happens:

  • A superuser schedules a task, and another superuser reschedules or deletes the task.
  • A limited-access admin schedules a task, and a superuser reschedules or deletes the task.
  • A superuser or a limited-access admin schedules a task, and the task fails.
  • An admin is configured to receive notifications based on the configuration of an approval workflow. For information about approval workflows, see Configuring Approval Workflows.

Superusers can also grant scheduling permissions to other admin groups. When the scheduling permission is added or inherited from an admin role, limited-access admin groups can schedule tasks. For information, see Administrative Permissions for Network Discovery.

  • No labels

This page has no comments.