Page tree

Contents

Infoblox Endpoint is a lightweight mobile agent that redirects DNS traffic from your remote devices to the BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud. It allows you to apply applicable security policies to your roaming end users in remote sites and branch offices.

In order for end users to connect to Infoblox cloud services, you must download and install Endpoint on their devices. The client enforces security policies that you apply to the remote networks, regardless of where your end users are and which networks they are connected to. Endpoint listens on port 53 of the device. If other software listens on the same port, DNS traffic cannot be redirected to BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud, and your device will not be protected by Endpoint.

When you use Endpoint, DNS queries are sent to BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud directly except for (1) queries that target the bypassed domains and (2) internal domains collected through the DHCP server. If you have internal domains that are served by your local DNS servers and you want to reach them without interruptions, you should consider adding them to the bypassed internal domains list so that DNS queries for these internal domains are sent to the local DNS servers instead of BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud.

BloxOne Endpoint supports dual-stack IPv4/IPv6, and IPv6 DNS configurations, thereby protecting all devices regardless of their network environments. This means roaming clients will be protected in different networking environments. When BloxOne Endpoint is connected to a network, endpoint can communicate with BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud using both protocols. Endpoint in a dual-stack environment is able to proxy IPv6 DNS queries and forward them to BloxOne Threat Defense Cloud over IPv4.

Deleted Endpoints will no longer be displayed in the Cloud Services Portal once moved to the Recycle Bin. The statistics reported in the details pane on the Endpoint page will no longer include deleted endpoints. Deleted endpoints are moved to the recycle bin where they can be restored by a system administrator. By default, deleted endpoints will be restored with a disabled status. Deleted endpoints can be restored by a system administrator. By default, deleted endpoints will be restored with a disabled status which can be modified by the system administrator. For information, see Viewing Endpoint Devices.

When an endpoint group is deleted, all the endpoints associated with the deleted group will move to the default group. If an endpoint group containing deleted endpoints is deleted, then all deleted endpoints associated with the deleted endpoint group will also move to the default group where their deleted status will remain unchanged. When restoring any of these deleted endpoints, they will continue to remain members of the default endpoint group. For information, see Viewing Endpoint Groups.

Note 
Endpoint does not support IPv6-only environments.

Any change in FQDN of the host running Endpoint will populate a new row of data in the portal. Old data is still retained as INACTIVE. Please ensure that the new updated Endpoint is added to the corresponding Endpoint Group so that it does not fall out of any defined Security Policy.

To set up the Endpoint service, complete the following tasks:

To view endpoint devices or create endpoint groups, see the following:

You can view the list of devices on which Endpoint has been installed. For information, see Viewing Endpoint Devices. To view the list of endpoint groups, see Viewing Endpoint Groups. For information on troubleshooting Endpoint, see Troubleshooting BloxOne Endpoint.

The Endpoint automatically upgrades itself whenever a new version of the client is available on the Cloud Services Portal. For more information, see Upgrading Endpoint.

  • No labels

This page has no comments.